9.16.20 – September Salama Circle: The “Strong Black Woman” Complex

9.16.20 – September Salama Circle: The “Strong Black Woman” Complex

Black woman at peace, standing with her eyes closed and hair blowing in the wind
scarritt bennett center logo
beyonce mass logo

“Salama” is a Swahili word that means safety. It has a historical etymological relationship with the Hebrew word, shalom (peace), the Arabic, salaam (a greeting), and Portuguese salamo (flying or soaring). The word points to the freedom that comes with being safe as you enter and dwell in a particular space or community.

Scarritt Bennett Center in collaboration with Beyoncé Mass presents Salama Circles: an intentional respite and safe space for Black women all over the globe to soar, to be free to express emotion and release pain, and anger for the sake of healing.

Salama Circles is a four-part series that invites Black women all over the globe to directly address issues of grief, joy, pleasure, and burden by engaging in conversation about the intersectional realities that Black women face daily, and how they impact particular kinds of trauma and exclusion.

Salama Circles will also offer resources and models of healing that allow Black women to reclaim joy and pleasure as mechanisms of liberation.

DETAILS
Dat
e: September 16, 2020
Times: 12pm – 1:30pm Central Time (additional time zone information below)
Free and open to Black women across the globe

September Circle: The "Strong Black Woman" Complex

Cherisna smiles at the camera while sitting in church pews

Host: Rev. Cherisna Jean-Marie

Director of Racial Justice Ministries at Scarritt Bennett Center

Rev. Cherisna Jean-Marie is the Director of Racial Justice Ministries at Scarritt Bennett Center.  In 2010,  Rev. Jean-Marie earned a Master of Divinity from Vanderbilt University Divinity School, where she was awarded the coveted Florence Conwell Prize for outstanding preaching. In 2012, Rev. Jean-Marie was ordained into the Christian ministry by the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) at New Covenant Christian Church in Nashville, TN, where she served as an Associate Minister. Rev. Jean-Marie completed her Chaplaincy work in Atlanta, GA in 2014, offering up the ministry of pastoral care and counseling to a diverse community of all walks of life and faith traditions. Rev. Jean-Marie is a co-contributor for the African-American lectionary, a 3-book project with the Bethany Fellows Group (Disciples of Christ), including These Sistas Can Say It, Partner Prayers for Advent 2014, and Prepare: An Advent Devotional 2019. She is a Bethany Fellow (Disciples of Christ), a member of the National Consortium of Black Women in Ministry–Nashville Branch, and serves as the Vice President of the Fellowship of Black Disciples Clergywomen. Rev. Jean-Marie begins her ministry with a vision to lead Scarritt Bennett Center to becoming a leading voice that proclaims love, justice, and hospitality.

woman standing at podium during a worship service

Facilitator: Rev. Yolanda Norton

Creator/Curator of Beyoncé Mass

Rev. Yolanda Norton is a womanist biblical scholar and the Creator/Curator of the Beyoncé Mass, a womanist worship service that uses the music and personal life of Beyoncé as a tool to foster an empowering conversation about Black women—their lives, their bodies, and their voices.

In addition to her work with the mass, Rev. Norton is Assistant Professor of Hebrew Bible and H. Eugene Farlough Chair of Black Church Studies at San Francisco Theological Seminary. Rev. Norton is currently on leave from SFTS for the 2020-2021 academic year as she serves as the Black Religious Scholar Group’s Crump Professor of Black Theology at the Seminary of the Southwest in Austin, TX.

Featured Contributor: Esther Armah

Executive Director and Founder, The Armah Institute of Emotional Justice (AIEJ)

Armah is Executive Director of The Armah Institute of Emotional Justice (AIEJ), providing emotionality education in the context of Race, Gender, and Culture via the visionary Emotional Justice framework. The Institute is global—in New York, London and Accra.

Armah is an international award-winning journalist, a playwright, and an international speaker. As a journalist, Armah has worked in London, New York, Washington DC, Chicago, Ghana, Nigeria, Kenya and South Africa.

Carla Lima headshot

Featured Artist: Carla Lima

Carla Lima is a member of the Beyonce Mass’ Black Girl Magic Ensemble and the Soul Gospel Project in Lisbon. In addition to being an accomplished singer who has performed on a global stage, Carla is a recognized poet. She has deep commitments to social justice, global Black studies, and community development.

Times and Time Zones:

– Pacific Daylight Time (PDT): 10am–11:30am
– Mountain Daylight Time (MDT): 11am–12:30pm
– Central Daylight Time (CDT): 12pm–1:30pm
– Eastern Daylight Time (EDT): 1pm–2:30pm
– Atlantic Daylight Time (ADT): 2pm–3:30pm
– Greenwich Mean Time (GMT): 5pm–6:30pm
– West Africa Standard Time (WAST): 6pm–7:30pm
– South Africa Standard Time (SAST): 7pm–8:30pm


Map Unavailable

Date/Time
Date(s) - 09/16/2020
12:00 pm - 1:30 pm

Categories No Categories